Trial Tuesday #17

trialtuesdays2

Welcome to Trial Tuesdays #17, if you missed last weeks post here is what Trial Tuesdays are all about:

Trial Tuesdays are where each week I will post about one or more new recipes that I have tried that week from other blogs and sources and I will also ask for suggestions of new recipes you think I should try.

Here is what I tried this week:

#1 Overnight Oats in a nut butter jar

41bc894410a311e3a9b422000aeb0d96_7 0984461c10f211e386d422000ae91435_7

Overnight oats in a nut butter jar from Amy at The Little Honey Bee. I can’t believe I can even call myself a blogger and not have tried this one out before but I’ve not had a near empty nut butter jar for a whilst to even think of trying it. This was really really good, it used greek yoghurt, chia seeds and almond milk, as well as banana and oats. I also added some goji berries to the mix.

#2 Very Veggie Chicken Stir Fry

ab05b74213ad11e3a2af22000a9f14a5_7

81c97f7013ae11e3893b22000aa8100d_7

f18036be13af11e3b30a22000aa80109_7

764c652413b111e3855922000a9e0723_7 e1bcbcd213b111e38aa822000a1fd52c_7
391a8bca13b311e3b2c822000ae800bd_7

Very Veggie Chicken Stir Fry from Kristin at Iowa Girl Eats. I’ve made plenty of chicken stir frys myself before but what I loved about this one was both the flavour of the  home made stir fry sauce which includes peanut butter to give it a bit of a satay flavour without being overpowering. The second part of this stir fry I loved is the fact that you scramble an egg in the middle of the stir fry and it just becomes part of the dish and adds loads of flavour. This dish was quick and easy to make and I already had all of the stir fry sauce ingredients on hand (another big plus in my book). My boyfriend really enjoyed this one too.

Want to join in?
To join me on my Trial Tuesdays simply create a blog post of a recipe you have tried recently, include the Trial Tuesdays button above and add your link to the link up tool below.

Alternatively you can suggest a recipe you think I should trial by posting a comment with a link to the recipe, emailing me at sproutsnsquats@gmail.com or message me on twitter @sproutsnsquats with the tag #TrialTuesdays.

Any recipes you think I should try?

Have you tried Oats in a nut butter jar before?

If you are a blogger are there any recipes that you feel like you ‘should’ have made before?

20 responses to “Trial Tuesday #17

  1. Yay so glad you tried the oats in a jar! They are such a convenient on the go breakfast and a great way to use an empty jar 🙂 now that stir fry looks tastyyyy

  2. I’ve actually never tried oats in a jar before.
    Kristin is always making something good on her blog, looks like her stir fry was a winner!

  3. The stir-fry looks great! I love the thought of adding an egg right in the middle of it… think that would be really good!! 🙂

  4. That stir fry looks amazing! Seriously all of your trial tuesdays are in my bookmarks! So many good choices! I’m so glad you tried OOIAJ! Once you try them you can’t stop! 🙂

  5. I tried oats in a jar once, and I hated it!! I think it has forever ruined it for me haha. This stir fry sounds delicious though, and this idea of trial Tuesdays is great!

  6. Before I try doing my overnight oats in a jar, I want one of those awesome clear glass mason jars. Half the delight in food prep is seeing the finished product – just sitting there in the fridge winking at me every time I open the door 😛

    Kudos on the very veggie stir-fry – also love the idea of the egg scrambling in the middle. Who ever went wrong with scrambled egg? 😛

Leave a comment